New Specifications Review Service for steel framing provides architects with a completely free checkup of their written specifications. Learn More

CFSEI Announces 2017 Design Excellence and Innovative Detail Award Winners


The Cold-Formed Steel Engineers Institute (CFSEI) presented four Design Excellence awards and one Innovative Detail award during the 2017 CFSEI Expo held May 22-23 at the Sheraton Fort Worth Downtown Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas.

CFSEI Design Excellence Awards recognize small and large projects that exemplify excellence in the structural design of new or renovated structures utilizing cold-formed steel products. This year, four first-place awards were given to recognize residential, municipal and commercial projects, with two projects tied in the municipal category. The CFSEI Design Excellence Award winners were: 1) Residential – Excel Engineering, Inc. for Collegetown Terrace Building 7 in Ithaca, New York; 2) Municipal – Radius Track Corporation and McClure Engineering Company for Faena Forum in Miami Beach, Florida; 3) Municipal – Matsen Ford Design Associates, Inc. for The Cade Museum for Creativity and Invention in Gainesville, Florida, and 4) Commercial – Shaffer Wilson Sarver & Gray, PC for MGM National Harbor in Oxon Hill, Maryland.

A new Innovative Detail Award was introduced this year to recognize a cold-formed steel detail that exemplifies creativity or ingenuity to solve a design challenge. The CFSEI Innovative Detail Award was presented to ADTEK Engineers, Inc. for the Bedford Square project in Westport, Connecticut.

“These projects demonstrate the versatility of cold-formed steel design in solving some very challenging design issues, as well as the efficient use of time and resources,” said Maribeth Rizzuto, LEED AP – BD + C, Managing Director of the Cold-Formed Steel Engineers Institute. “We think these award winners and their projects will inspire other design professionals to creatively use cold-formed steel for their own projects.  We received a significant number of entries for this year’s awards, which made judging difficult. We appreciate the efforts of everyone who submitted entries.”

Read Full Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *